The most Awkward Pickup Line Ever

A few years ago, I was standing in the frozen food aisle at the local supermarket, and this gentleman, to use the term extremely generously, moseyed on up to me.

“Hey”, he said to me quietly. Then, “HEY!”

I turned, thinking perhaps I had dropped my purse or that he had mistaken me for store staff. Believe it or not, it happens a lot, and since I tend to know where everything in a store is anyway, I’m usually pretty helpful. I smiled, but kept the cold-dead- “state your business!” type eyes.

“Can I help you?” I asked coolly.
“Yeah,” he grinned. ” I like your arm.” He waggled his eyebrows suggestively, and waited for me to respond.

My forearm brings all the boys to the yard, and they’re like, it’s better than yours.

Of course I said “thank you”. It’s not every day someone tries to pick you up by the frozen corn by telling you they admire one of your limbs.

Still, years later, I wonder: is there an appropriate response to “I like your arm” that I should have used? I’d like to know, in case it ever happens again.

3 thoughts on “The most Awkward Pickup Line Ever

  1. a specific arm? haha. weird! once in a club, a guy came up to my friend and said, “i like your features. your teeth don’t stick out of your face.” what do you even do with that?

    • Yeah, he liked my arm. JUST THE ONE. I suppose it’s a really good thing when people’s teeth stick out of their face, but is it common enough to be a thing? Also,how many guys are there walking around making completely confusing ‘compliments”? I feel like I need to go out and research this now.

  2. Wow. That is special.

    Bad pickup lines are a favorite conversation piece of mine. I’m continually amazed at the complete idiocy of some of them. And then men get angry when we don’t respond to the complete idiocy and disrespect.

    Yeah, you’re going to marry him and bear his children because he… has a thing for your arm? And yesterday I saw Elvis in a UFO…

Leave a comment