Sunday short and shout: Wait, so Rick Springfield is actually just a straight guy creeper?

I found this awesome app called Songza. It’s free, no ads, and has truly great playlists. You should get it, if for no other reason than you can have misheard lyrics conversations with your significant other too.

Me, ironing, singing along to my 80’s playlist: Ooh I wish that I was Jesse’s girl….

Johnny Rotten: STOP. What did you just say?

Me: I said, “I wish that I was Jesse’s girl”. That is how the song goes, I’m just singing along.

Johnny Rotten, doing the I’m-being-serious-on-the-outside-but -I’m totally-laughing-on-the-inside face: Could you please explain what this song is about?

Me: It’s about a guy who has a crush on his friend, and wishes he was in a relationship with his friend, but he can’t do anything but wish and long from afar– afar, Johnny Rotten!– because of different sexual preferences. It’s kind of sad, but these things happen, I guess.

Johnny Rotten, with his I’m-laughing-on-the-inside-AND-the-outside face: Seriously?! That’s not what’s its about. That’s not even how it goes.

Me: Fine, so tell me, smartypants. Tell me your interpretation.

Johnny Rotten: It goes “I wish that I had Jesse’s girl”, not “I wish I was Jesses’s girl”. And it’s kind of creepy, because it’s just this guy wishing he could steal his best friend’s girlfriend. How do you not know these lyrics?

Me: You’re judging me right now, aren’t you?

Johnny Rotten: Yes. Yes I am.

Leave a Reply

