An Urgent Public Service Announcement, Part Two

Dear Internet,

Do you remember when I snarked at all of you about violas and voilas not being the same thing? Okay. Good. I don’t mean to be that guy but may I please talk to you for a moment about aww and awe?

See, the following photo deserves an ‘aww’, because it is cute. You can use ‘Aww’ for cute.

Image

Aww, cute puppies!

You can also use ‘aww’ when something is sad. It’s a bit different, but I have faith that you will understand the context, and will aww appropriately.

Image

Awww, sad clown.

This next one is a bit harder.

Image

Awww, cute! Awww, sad! ALL OF THE AWW!

Then, there’s ‘awe’. ‘Awe’ doesn’t have any place with any of these pictures, because it isn’t a socially accepted noise for when you think something is touching, cute or sad. Awe is a real word, with a real definition, in real dictionaries! Really!

Awe is defined as

n.

1. A mixed emotion of reverence, respect, dread, and wonder inspired by authority, genius, great beauty, sublimity, or might: We felt awe when contemplating the works of Bach. The observers were in awe of the destructive power of the new weapon.
2. Archaic

a. The power to inspire dread.
b. Dread.
I get that the clown above might qualify as an ‘awe’ under the archaic definition. I did feel a bit of dread, but it wasn’t really because of mightiness or sublimity. It was more just… well, clowns. You know.
Image
Awe. Not aww, unless it has puppies.
You guys, I know I have my grammatical issues. I abuse commas harshly and without a shred of remorse. My sentences run on and on and on and on. I need help with these issues. I’m not perfect.  But, from one imperfect English user to another, could we all please try to get better?
Leave a Reply

